Straits Times: Workers’ Party names first 12 candidates


The Workers’ Party announced tonight the names of 12 candidates who will contest the election.

All of them are members of the executive council. The party said it would eventually field 35 candidates. The 12 names announced tonight, and their constituencies:

Chairman Mr. Heng Swee Tong, company director (Geylang East); first vice-chairman Mr. R. Murugason, lawyer (Potong Pasir); second vice-chairman Mr. Chiang Seok Keong, businessman (Stamford).


The secretary-general, Mr. J.B. Jeyaretnam, lawyer, will stand in Farrer Park, while his assistant Mr. Seow Khee Leng, a former trade unionist, will contest in Kim Keat.

Others in the line-up are:

Treasurer Mr. Robert Tan Poh Seng, building engineer (Paya Lebar); assistant treasurer Mr. Seow Yong Chew, interior decorator (Tiong Bahru); organising secretary Mr. Ng Ho, ex-trade unionist (Leng Kee); assistant organising secretary Mr. Wong Hong Toy (Crawford); committee members Mr. Koh Jiak Hiong, clerk (Kim Seng); Inche Othman bin Abdullah, technician, (Kampong Kembangan); and Mr. Kwek Poh Lam, businessman (Geylang West).

Mr. Jeyaretnam said that talks are still going on with the Barisan Socialis for an electoral pact.

Chairman Heng, in a statement, called on the Government to allow Opposition parties time to speak over television and radio.

He said: “The mass media should not be monopolised by the ruling party.

“If the democratic process is to be effective, then the people must have access to the views and ideologies of all parties and not just those of the PAP.”

Posted in 1972 08. Comments Off on Straits Times: Workers’ Party names first 12 candidates
%d bloggers like this: